Mustard Seeds and Yeast

Jesus said, “What is the Kingdom of God like?
To what can I compare it?
It is like a mustard seed that a man took and planted in the garden.
When it was fully grown, it became a large bush
and the birds of the sky dwelt in its branches.”

Again he said, “To what shall I compare the Kingdom of God?
It is like yeast that a woman took
and mixed in with three measures of wheat flour
until the whole batch of dough was leavened.”

Luke 13:18-21

Jesus is talking about the littlest things making a huge impact.

It’s that way with our actions also. Nothing is too little to make an impact on someone else. I don’t know about you but sometimes I think anything I have to offer to too small so I don’t do anything. I forget what someone’s smile has meant to me, or how much I appreciated that card someone took the time to mail (or e-mail), or how much that unexpected phone call (or text) brightened my day.

None of those things are big or take much effort! But if everyone did one of those little things every day, imagine how many people would feel better! Imagine how the Kingdom of God would be spread through those simple actions!

The Kingdom of God is that we love one another. How are you loving today?

For Journaling….

The ‘mustard seeds’ I have planted so far today are…

The ‘yeast’ that others have given to me today include…

I hear God saying to me….

Leave a comment